Trophy Based 900 Cafe Racer

Discussion in 'Builds & Projects' started by matt botterman, Feb 19, 2016.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. matt botterman

matt botterman Active Member

Feb 4, 2016
    sussex
    So wanted to join in the fashion I have begun to build a Cafe

Ill start out by saying I am not the most mechanically competent and this is my first project of any descript. However I wanted to build something that was nice looking, but reliable and large enough to fits me (im 6,4).
    A British bike was also on the must list.
    I therefore began searching the web and found Cafe Racer Kits and their offering for the 900 triumph. Whilst its not a twin shock like some cafes its still a nice looking thing. I would want to add a little bikini fairing as I like that look but otherwise all is good.

This is a terrible paint version of the intended end product

Triumph - Finish.jpg
    I therefore ordered the kit in December and set about looking for a base bike.

• Like Like x 2
  2. steve lovatt

steve lovatt Something else

May 12, 2014
    North Yorkshire
    Hi Matt, very interesting project (as I have a 900 Trident).
    The CRK kit certainly looks the part and there won't be too many about I suspect! TR-02VS.jpeg

• Like Like x 9
  3. matt botterman

Feb 4, 2016
    sussex
    I found on gumtree a nice looking Trophy 900. 30k on the clock, a few little scrapes but recently serviced and MOT'd, new tyres, a new dual Quill exhaust and freshly reconditioned brakes. A good base!

I never took a picture of it but it basically the same as this stock image. trophy.jpg

I got my instructions and a haynes manual from Cafe Racers and set about stripping the bike down.

First job fairings and tank off
    IMAG0008.jpg

All fine so far - Discovered the bike had a scottoiler that I hadnt spotted previously - If anyone wants one let me know!