The Long Way Down - And Back

Discussion in 'Rideouts, Trackdays, Touring & Spotted' started by Levy89, Jul 10, 2017.

1. Levy89

Levy89 New Member

Apr 14, 2015
    Rutland
    Hi everyone!

New here to the forum and to owning a Triumph although I've been biking for a few years! Recently bought myself a Triumph Bonneville T100 Black and absolutely loving riding it.

As you can probably tell from the name of the thread, I'm planning a road trip (to Saint Tropez) and back on my Bonnie, which is at the end of the month!

I was planning on doing the journey in 2 days there and 2 days back - has anyone got any experience of these roads, any advice on places to go, not to go, where to stay, how to break up the journey etc? I'd be grateful for your advice!

Also, here's my just giving page if you'd like to read up on my story, why I'm doing the ride and if you'd like to donate... https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/michael-leverton

Thanks in advance!!

• Like Like x 1
  2. Dougie D

Dougie D Crème de la Crème

Jan 30, 2016
    Blairgowrie Perthshire
    Hi Michael,and welcome to the forum, i'm glad to hear you are on the mend,As for routes,i think with the distance and time involved you might have to stay on the motorways and i don't think you will have much time to visit places en route,maybe doing it over 6 days instead of 4 would be better? Hopefully someone on here that has been to Saint Tropez can offer you some advice.
    All the best with the fundraising

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Levy89

Levy89 New Member

Apr 14, 2015
    Rutland
    Thanks for the welcome and thanks for the sponsorship Dougie! yeah, I think it will just have to be motorways & toll roads on the first day. I'm aiming to get down to the alps by the end of the first day and then have a bit more of a relaxed ride the next day and enjoy the scenery.