Police In North Wales

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by RSReggie, May 20, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. RSReggie

RSReggie Active Member

Apr 9, 2019
    North West UK
    I have been riding in North Wales for the last 10+ years with no issues.

I was stopped by Police (for a chat...) on way home last week (Tuesday pm) after an un marked bike had followed me
    for about 7 miles + then on Saturday I saw a few police cars no worries, was just following a car minding my own business. Next thing blue flashing lights... I moved over to let him pass but he didn't, he pulled me over !
    Said my number plate was ridiculously small??? it IS a little under standard size to fit in with my tail tidy but by no means taking the piss. In fact the copper who stopped me last Tuesday didn't even mention it !
    I have had the same size plate for 15 years without issue.

Anyway... the copper on Saturday commented that there weren't many bikes out . I asked about the policing and large number of police about. He said that on Saturdays and Sundays they are TARGETING bikes and fast cars as they
    are speeding around north Wales then riding back at the same speeds and crashing ....

I genuinely think he was pissed off at not spotting any illegal riding so started on any kind on minor detail.
    Maybe they have a quota to meet each day ?

So be aware of this if you ride in Wales at weekend - I think I will stick to summer evenings and afternoons off in the best weather .

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  2. freck

freck Elite Member

May 4, 2017
    Preston, Lancs, UK
    It’s not just North Wales, it’s the same here in Lancashire. As soon as the better weather arrives they’re out in droves to target bikes, especially on the weekends.
    Of course it’s all in the name of safety and nothing to do with revenue generation :rolleyes:

• Agree Agree x 5