Featured novice summary of my track day - Brands Hatch 10/4/17

Discussion in 'Racing & Bike Sport' started by Yaya rider, Apr 11, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Yaya rider

Yaya rider Well-Known Member

Jan 23, 2016
    Essex
    Not sure if anyone is really fussed about track day updates, but I thought I'd sling it on.

I'm still a novice rider, but really enjoy track days to help get my confidence up. I've got an old Honda CBR600 steelie which is perfect for throwing around a track. My dad joined me on his 98 Blade.

Only the 3rd track day i've done, and first at brands. Quite happy with the fact i was getting towards the edge on my tyres. By the end I clocked a pedestrian personal best of 1:13 (although that was 8 seconds quicker than my first session's best!), and my old man clocked a 1:07. I think it will be his last time in the Novice group!

I've included a few pics below, as well as an on board vid with my dad. He follows me for a couple of bends, I overtake a Repsol blade, and then he blasts off for some 'spirited' riding (he's 62 and was the fastest in the group, beating track only bikes all day long!)

I'll defo be going back to brands this summer if anyone was interested, as it's nice and close for me, and is all about the corners, which is where I want to continue to improve. Started to work the edges of tyres, which was a big step forward for me.

IMG_5442.JPG

IMG_5445.JPG

IMG_5447.JPG

IMG_5452.JPG

IMG_5453.jpg

IMG_5454.jpg

• Like Like x 7
  2. Dougie D

Dougie D Crème de la Crème

Jan 30, 2016
    Blairgowrie Perthshire
    i put this video up a while back,well worth watching,,the first twist of the wrist book is more for racing and track days it's a bit heavy going but might be worth getting a hold of a copy,the 2nd book that this video is based on is much easier to understand

3. Dougie D

Jan 30, 2016
    Blairgowrie Perthshire