Newbie needs help deciding

Discussion in 'Newbies Hangout' started by phildrew, Jul 6, 2014.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. phildrew

phildrew New Member

Jul 6, 2014
    Hi All,
    Complete newbie here. Haven't even passed my Mod2 yet (tried and failed on Friday). Am trying to figure out what to buy but can't decide. My bike needs to be good at four things (in no particular order):
    1) looking good
    2) commuting in London
    3) travelling from London to Dorset and back (116 miles each way) every fortnight
    4) being easy for a newbie
    Now, I know you'll agree there's a Triumph for me, but which one? With regards to looks, I love the Bonnie and America. Bonnie and tiger 800 would presumably be good within London? Then both Tiger and America will be good for getting to Dorset on motorways and 'a' roads. But seems none of them will do all three brilliantly - am I right?
    Nothing wrong with the looks of the Tiger of course - I just prefer the classic looks.
    Now, I went to a classic dealer yesterday and he had some old Thunderbirds from the nineties I think. These looked like big old Bonnies (not the new cruiser Thunderbirds). I was wondering if these might be the solution? Can anyone tell me about them? Think they were 900s. Fairly expensive second hand. (about 5-6 k).
    Further information :
    I'm fairly heavy (100kg or 15.5 stone), fairly tall (6ft 1in) with long legs and short arms (relatively speaking!). I've no great need to hoon it along burning Iraq's annual oil output, but don't want to sit in traffic either!
    I guess for the America you could interchange with speedmaster - not sure what the difference is.
    Anyway I bet you guys can help me here - what should I choose (including anything I haven't mentioned)? I will of course test ride them all if possible but appart from that...
    Thanks very much - can't wait to get my Triumph!
    P