Newbie Here........

Discussion in 'Triumph General Discussion' started by MarcoB, Jun 22, 2019.

1. MarcoB

MarcoB Member

Jun 22, 2019
    Michigan
    Hello everyone,

New to the forum and in the market for a Triumph Bonneville. I always loved these bikes (never owned one) but have the opportunity to look at a 1970 next week. I appreciate originality, numbers matching and correctness.
    What do I look for in this particular model/year ? Where are the frame and engine #'s stamped ? Weaknesses and any other things to watch for. Its been sitting for 40 years in a barn ........what is a fair price ?

So far all I know is that a 1970 still has an oil tank which is preferred to the oil in frame style. The gentleman I spoke with mentioned a hexagon down tube ??

Thank you in advance.

Marco

• Like Like x 4
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. freck

freck Elite Member

May 4, 2017
    Preston, Lancs, UK
    Welcome Marco, that sounds like a nice find. Hope it’s a worthwhile buy and you can resurrect her back to life. :grinning:

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Sprinter

Sprinter Kinigit

Aug 17, 2014
    uk
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Helmut Visor

Helmut Visor Only dead fish go with the flow
    Subscriber

Oct 3, 2018
    Three Counties
    Howdy Marco, and welcome in :cool::cool:

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. mpllineman

mpllineman First Class Member

Feb 12, 2018
    Pearl,Ms.
    Good morning Marco and welcome in. That sounds like a great find. Good luck with her and enjoy!

• Agree Agree x 1
  6. joe mc donald

Subscriber

Dec 26, 2014
    slough / burnham
    MarcoB
    The frame number is usually on the right side ( clutch) on the down tube. The engine number same side just under the barrels. Should be embossed with the triumph logo so buyers know its not been restamped. But the stamps never were all that clever so don't let that put you of. Its a great bike at the right price. Don't get taken in by fairy stories. Look a few up and get a feel for the value.