New Bonneville T-100 Owner In Socal

Discussion in 'Newbies Hangout' started by Docsabre, Feb 3, 2024.

1. Docsabre

Docsabre New Member

Feb 3, 2024
    California
    So I’ve been riding motorcycles since 1966 and have owned over 30-40 bikes including Yamahas, Suzukis, Hondas (my favorite), Kawasakis, and exactly one Vespa (the bike that draws the most chicks) and one BSA. Back in the summer of 1970 I had been dying to own an oil leaking, Lucas electric demon possessed used Bonneville 650 (going price $600) but every want ad I responded to said the bike was already sold. Lucky me! I found a BSA Hornet that became the most hated bike I ever owned. Thats a whole different story.
    Fast forward to December 2023 and I found a 2006 T-100 for a steal. All it needed was a carb overhaul and a new crankcase position sensor to make it run….sort of. After my professional mechanic reworked the carbs, checked the valve clearance and put in a new GPS, it was good to go.
    Rode it home in a pouring rainstorm yesterday and it only died once. Rode it today and it has only died once. If this can’t be sorted out someone else will be the happy owner of this bike along with two or three of the other bikes in my garage (1976 BMW R-90/6, 1993 Honda CB750 Nighthawk all in perfect running condition) and I’ll maybe get something else I’ve always wanted and get that out of my system.
    Honestly, I really want to like the T100 but my 6’5” frame finds it cramped. I like the torque and handling better than the R-90/6. Perhaps I'll get a later model T-120.

IMG_7477.jpeg

• Like Like x 3
  2. Boothman

Boothman Senior Member

Jul 26, 2023
    Wigan
    Hi and welcome to the forum :cool:

• Like Like x 1
  3. TaffD

TaffD Member

Jul 17, 2023
    Hereford
    Hi Docsabre, welcome to the forum

• Like Like x 1
  4. Helmut Visor

Helmut Visor Only dead fish go with the flow
    Subscriber

Oct 3, 2018
    Three Counties
    Howdy Docsabre :cool:

• Like Like x 1
  5. Glenn2926