765 New 2020 1st Gear Prob

Discussion in 'Street Triple' started by Jjwright, Mar 24, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Jjwright

Jjwright New Member

Mar 24, 2020
    Waipahu, Hawaii
    I am Jon from Hawaii. I recently bought a 2020 Street Triple RS.. I'm also new to riding since 2018. My first bike was a 2015 Yamaha FJ09 which I traded in. I love how smooth it is compared to the Yam, but with less than 300 miles, I just experienced issues today with shifting into first from neutral for the first time and it is repeatable. From first to neutral is ok. But when shifting back to first sometimes I have to keep my foot on the lever to keep it first and release the clutch. No matter how hard I press on the lever, it seems to slip back into neutral. Any ideas out there? Thanks ahead of time!

I don't want to regret this purchase. I just purchased swingarm sliders, a cover, and some other protective accessories for this bike and waiting for some of these things to come in.

TimePhoto_20200215_170237.jpg

2. dilligaf

dilligaf Guest

Could be as simple as clutch free play at the lever but on a new bike I would take it back to the dealer :)

• Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 2
  3. PH1969

PH1969 Well-Known Member

Jan 6, 2017
    Northampton
    Get the dealer to adjust it but it will get smoother with miles. Mine was a bit reluctant at first but is great now.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Jjwright

Jjwright New Member

Mar 24, 2020
    Waipahu, Hawaii