Hi, from a born again biker.

Discussion in 'Newbies Hangout' started by The Musketeer, Mar 30, 2016.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. The Musketeer

The Musketeer Member

Mar 29, 2016
    Redbridge Essex
    #1 The Musketeer, Mar 30, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2016
    Hi everyone, my name is John, I'm 67 years old & I'm currently in the process of obtaining my motorcycle licence via the Direct Access route.

My dad was a dispatch rider during WW2 (BEF & North Africa) and we always had a couple of old motorbikes in the back garden that he used for transport to work & back after the war.

I started riding on an Excelsior Consort when I was about 12 years old, when, in those days, we could push it to a disused airfield and ride it around all day..

Later, when I was old enough to get a provisional licence, I bought a Triumph Tiger Cub then progressed through... 250 Matchless, 250 Royal Enfield, Triumph 350 Tiger, 500 Matchless & finally a Pre Unit '59 Bonneville. I sold the Bonny for £200.00 quid and now a tear comes to my eye whenever I see them for sale at £8,000.00 plus... !!

Then I got married, passed my driving test, bought a Mk1 Consul & got into marshalling at motor sport events for a hobby & working in the high performance engine industry for a living.

Despite enjoying a number of years riding around the Essex countryside, going on the Dragon Rally and spending my honeymoon on the IOM for the Diamond Jubilee TT in '67, I never really found time to pass my motorcycle test.. so, last year I decided that I had to tick that box before I was laid out in mine..

With the CBT & Theory test done & dusted in November 2015, In January I signed up for a Direct Access course and I've now passed Module 1, and Module 2 is on the very near horizon...