Here's A Random One.... Fish.

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by ChasChas, Nov 19, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. ChasChas

ChasChas Marxist Scum

Aug 9, 2020
    Kent
    We've, if not broad, certainly a wideish demographic here so I'm curious about your fish eating habits.

(yes, I am, not a pisstake)

I'm in my late fifties and it's always featured in my diet. Before DD weighs in with a liberal swipe much of that has been deep fried. I'm from a household that had a permanent chip pan on the stove, deep frying is no mystery to me.
    But also I can remember going round markets in London and watching the live eels in a bucket while Ma bought some fish. (if we were unlucky, eels)
    When we moved out of the smoke we started buying fish off the dayboats on the coast and it's something I still do monthly at least. I've been buying fish off the same coast for forty years at least
    But I fear our fishermen are going to get sold down the river again (no pun etc) in the current trade talks. Half heard a phonein on the radio today that nobody really cares about our fishing industry because we don't eat fish.
    I hoped that wasn't a representative comment but I'm genuinely curious to know if I'm a niche consumer or if there's a broader support.

No judgement if it's not your thing, I'm just trying to guage if it's a minority that care.

• Like Like x 2
  2. JtC

JtC Elite Member

Apr 20, 2020
    New Mexico
    I probably do not have an impact on the fish market in your country, but I eat salmon and/or whitefish (baked usually) once or twice a week. I do not catch fish very often when I go fishing due to lack of skill/luck, but when I do it is catfish, crappy, or bass and we eat them. I grew up eating fried fish of all kinds as my grandmother was an expert fisherman and cook!

• Like Like x 7
  3. ChasChas

ChasChas Marxist Scum

Aug 9, 2020
    Kent