Battery Info

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Bensley, Apr 10, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Bensley

Bensley New Member

Oct 26, 2014
    Kitzbühel
    Hi everyone,

I am buying a new battery for my Bonneville T100, 2003, 790cc carb model. On many websites (I'll use Bosch as an example) I get two options:

1) Bosch YT12B-BS, Capacity 12AH, Cold start 190A (recommended for 2009 onwards)

2) Bosch YTX12-BS, Capacity 10AH, Cold start 90A

I am a complete electrical novice and do not understand the differences. Could someone explain in layman's terms what this actually means.

Perhaps the first one mentioned above is overkill for an older machine, but is there any actual disadvantage to it? i.e. could I damage something by using a stronger battery?

I struggle with my batteries only lasting one summer and I am sick to death of buying a new one every year.

Any advice you could share would be very much appreciated!
    Cheers,
    Ben

2. thebiglad

thebiglad Old fart, still riding !

Sep 25, 2013
    Central France
    Hi Ben, I always go for the very best battery I can on all my vehicles. You can't hurt the bike going for the higher spec version, there's no downside so go big !!!

3. steve lovatt

steve lovatt Something else

May 12, 2014
    North Yorkshire
    The "YT" reference you give for the Bosch batteries is simply the manufacturers mark. YTX12 - BS indicates that it is a maintenance free battery and the "X" shows that it is a high performance one. 12 is the indication of performance level of the battery (12 being fine for a bike). B is the type of terminal and S means it's sealed.
    The AH designation stands for "Amp hour" - an indication of how much energy can be stored by the battery.