America Corrosion Question

Discussion in 'America, Speedmaster & Rocket' started by crispey, Jun 21, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. crispey

crispey crispey creme de la creme

Nov 6, 2014
    Uk
    My bro is looking at buying an America, it has to be blue, why?
    Anyway he saw one advertised at Wigan Yamaha, less than a year old and when sent photos these showed a lot of corrosion on the rear wheel! Is this an issue with americas or has it been totally neglected over the winter?
    Ta

2. Scoot65

Scoot65 Well-Known Member

Dec 3, 2015
    DURHAM
    #2 Scoot65, Jun 21, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2017
    Less than a year old you say?
    I'd say it's got to be down to being neglected after being ridden on salty roads over the winter.
    I have a 2005 Speedmaster and it is showing very little corrosion. I don't ride salty roads at winter.

I've amended the post with the words in bold (I'd missed the words out of my original post)

• Useful Useful x 1
  3. Aussieamerica

Aussieamerica Well-Known Member

May 12, 2016
    East coast Australia
    Unfortunately from what I've seen and read of various forums the quality of materials and the quality control on assembly seem to be less than on the earlier models. My 02 America's finish after 15 years is still in very good condition, bit of a shame really as the Triumph marque has been growing well with an ever expanding model range.

• Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. crispey

Nov 6, 2014
    Uk
    I had the feeling it was more neglect, some people buy toys to have fun with but don't want to put any effort into maintaining them.

5. Scoot65

Dec 3, 2015
    DURHAM
    Less than a year old you say?
    I'd say it's got to be down to being neglected after being ridden on salty roads over the winter.
    I have a 2005 Speedmaster and it is showing very little corrosion. I don't ride salty roads at winter.