Advice Needed On Suspension

Discussion in 'Speed Triple' started by speeder, Jan 29, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. speeder

speeder Noble Member

Jan 3, 2019
    dorset
    I am new to the ST after years on BMW's.
    Am I alone in finding the front suspension way too hard?today l hit a series of small bumps while cornering and the bike was thrown completely off line, brown trouser moment.
    It appears the front suspension is completely over damped on compression, the forks hardly compress at when hitting bumps or pushing down on the bars.
    Is it normal to back the compression damping adjuster off from the standard setting to get round this?
    Any advice appreciated.

2. Sprinter

Sprinter Kinigit

Aug 17, 2014
    uk
    Is it new or could the previous owner have adjusted it?

3. Rocker

Rocker Elite Member

May 1, 2016
    Suffolk
    You can do it yourself measure from a fixed point with the front wheel off the ground then let the suspension settle under its own weight then measure again the difference should be about 15mm(sag) for the compression sit on the bike and pump the forks they should return to the first position and no more change the top adjusters to eliminate any over shoot, rebound is the third and a fine art set the adjuster to the centre setting and ride the bike on your favorite road feeling what she does dial the rebound to suit your style and most used roads hth the rear can be done the same.
    hope it makes sense recalling form memory and a bit pissed at the moment:)

4. Richard Neale

Richard Neale Active Member

Apr 20, 2018
    Northwich
    Just loosen the compression damping and pump the forks for a base line on if it's improved. Before anything note the current settings. It's possible previous owner changed fluid or put too much in or had resprung

5. speeder

speeder Noble Member

Jan 3, 2019
    dorset