675 Abs Or No Abs

Discussion in 'Street Triple' started by RAYK47, Mar 20, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. RAYK47

RAYK47 Well-Known Member

Feb 22, 2019
    Herts
    Looking at street triples at the moment, in preparation for passing my test (however long that may take). However the ABS models are pretty scarce pre 2013, this led me to consider a non ABS model. Costs of a decent triple in that age is about £4.5k.

Now I get that I am a noob and my current bike does not have ABS but it is only a 125 so probably not really needed. But is it worth considering a non ABS model or should it be the first thing a noob like me looks for?

What are people's thoughts on ABS? Good bad experiences, times it saved or hindered you etc. Anything specific that is useful to know.

2. ineale

ineale New Member

Sep 19, 2018
    England
    Whether you're a noob or not, ABS in my humble opinion is well worth having. On the race track it gets in the way but on the road, when you're concentration may not be 100%, it could just be enough to save your skin.....

• Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  3. crispey

crispey crispey creme de la creme

Nov 6, 2014
    Uk
    As an owner of 2 non ABS bikes I would say go for ABS not so much for the braking but having riden bikes with it does do a lot for your confidence, wether it makes you a lazy late braker would be another topic

4. RAYK47

RAYK47 Well-Known Member

Feb 22, 2019
    Herts
    Thanks all. I was always leaning towards the ABS model anyway. Just wanted opinions before deciding for definite.

Mod1 and mod2 is early April so hopefully the serious looking will start around that time.

• Like Like x 1
  5. crispey

crispey crispey creme de la creme

Nov 6, 2014
    Uk
    Best of luck

• Agree Agree x 1
  6. RAYK47

RAYK47 Well-Known Member

Feb 22, 2019
    Herts
    Cheers crispey

• Like Like x 1
  7. mikwehttam

mikwehttam Member