1967/1969 Bonnie Rebuild Desert Sled Project - Any Advice

Discussion in 'Vintage Classics' started by Sundance, Sep 15, 2021.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Sundance

Sundance Well-Known Member

Aug 2, 2021
    Arlington, VA
    Hi,

I am new to the forum. I’ve some experience with motorcycles, first Bultaco Pursangs in the 1970’s, then on to BMW bikes. I had a K75S and rebuilt most of it. Then onto a K1300S, perfect shape and very fast and smooth - passed on to another rider in 2019.

I’m in the northern part of Virgina, in the USA.

Now those have gone and I’ve recently acquired a Triumph T120R. The bike is a 1967 T120R Bonneville frame (DU49062) and the engine from a 1969 T120R (EC 19971). It has been in storage for the past 30 years or so. It was rebuilt in about 1982, with a Routt 800cc big barrel kit. Apparently it wasn’t ridden much after then, the owner being in the military and moving around a bit while the bike was in storage.

So I am trying to decide how to best approach this beast. The Amal monobloc dual carburetors are off the bike, and they have the numbers of “10 66” and “389/95” written on the intake flanges. So I am wondering where to get a rebuild kit for these carburetors - or perhaps new carburetors?

Since the bike was rebuilt in 1982 and not ridden much after, I was thinking of just trying to rebuild the carbs and install them and do a good change of oil and fluids and such and trying to give the bike a go - that is see if I can get it running.

The gas tank is rusted out so I need a new tank. I was looking for something simple, and saw some of the tanks for sale on eBay from India. I’ve heard these are not so great. Although I see they also have an alloy/aluminun tank that looks pretty nice.

I am not trying to restore this bike, but just get it running and ridable - with a look to it being a bit more of a scrambler/desert sled style.