Wobbly Rear End & Sticky Gear Change?

Discussion in 'Sprint & Trophy' started by Kieran Hensby, Aug 16, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Kieran Hensby

Kieran Hensby New Member

Jul 1, 2017
    South Yorkshire
    Hi all, I know the title reads like something from the new series of bake off, however, I went for a mooch with my mate around our beloved Yorkshire moors the other day and noticed a few issues;

gear change is very sticky from first to second, sometime going from first to third?

rear wheel felt as though it was wobbling as I was riding? very in nerving when approaching corners?:scream:
    I was thinking bearings?

I'm a beginner biker, my weapon of choice is a sprint st (2008), the bike has only covered 100 miles in the last eighteen months, novice mechanically, but going on a short tour around wales in a few weeks and wanted bike to be at its best.

Any help, advice, guidance appreciated.

Also thinking of changing the tyres, due to long time standing, unused.

2. stevethegoolie

stevethegoolie Elite Member

Oct 16, 2014
    East Riding of Yorkshire
    Welcome, Kieran.
    First things first - get rid of the postcode in your details. Too easy for reprobates to see where you might be.
    An oil and filter change may help with the gear changes. I went from Halfords own to Shell and will go back to Halfords next time.
    Put the bike on its centre stand, grab the back wheel with both hands opposite each other and see if you can feel any play by pushing and pulling. There should be none - if there is then a bearing is probably shot.
    Change the tyres anyway for peace of mind if you are unsure about them. They may be the cause of you wobbles depending on how worn they are and how they have worn.

3. Kieran Hensby

Kieran Hensby New Member

Jul 1, 2017
    South Yorkshire