What Got You Into The 2 Wheel Life?

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by Jordan B, Feb 10, 2022.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Jordan B

Jordan B New Member

Jan 10, 2022
    Johannesburg South Africa
    Good morning all,

Hope you are all staying safe in these crazy times.

As someone who has been on 2 wheels since I was a small child, I cannot recall the initial draw to bikes. Or the feeling of getting on one for the first time.

I would love to know, for anyone who got into motorcycles later on in life, why did you do it and what did it feel like to ride one for the first time?

Regards,

• Like Like x 6
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Octoberon

Octoberon Crème de la Crème

Jul 2, 2020
    Peak District, Yorkshire
    I probably don't qualify under the 'later in life' rule as I started riding when I was 16 (a dismal Honda SS50 but it was all I could afford) however, my riding career stalled after about 3 years when I got my first car. That may have been it were it not for a simple request my Mum about 5 year later. She had a Honda Cub for nipping about. I went to visit her one day in the depths of Cornwall and she asked if I'd take it to the nearest garage, about 6 miles away along a country road, to check the tyre pressures. Ever the dutiful son, I hopped on and rode away. By the time I got back I'd decided I'd like another bike. I bought a 125, passed my test about 6 months later, and traded it in for a Suzuki VX800, and never looked back.

• Like Like x 9
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Golgotha

Golgotha Guest

#3 Golgotha, Feb 10, 2022
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 10, 2022