Triumph Boneville Street Twin Tyre Selection

Discussion in 'Newbies Hangout' started by Indiana Jones, Sep 30, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Indiana Jones

Indiana Jones New Member

Sep 30, 2019
    cheshire
    hello everyone

I have just purchased a street twin ( 1st Sept) and just want to make a post for other new riders to the bike … please do change the tyres before encountering wet roads … I found out to my detriment with the first wet ride , going very slowly through approx., 1cm of water the bike just slipped from under me …it appears the tyres on the bike as standard are more for dry weather riding and "the look", rather than all round riding … I have now swopped the tyres out but again due to the size of the wheels there is very little choice on the market …

The bike is marketed at inexperienced riders and ladies .. I have been riding for 10 years and travelled a lot on my last bike in Europe ( 9 countries alone last year ) so although you never stop learning I am not a beginner to biking

Really hope this helps anyone looking to purchase this bike

• Like Like x 3
    • Useful Useful x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Helmut Visor

Helmut Visor Only dead fish go with the flow
    Subscriber

Oct 3, 2018
    Three Counties
    Hi Indy, and welcome in :cool::cool:

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Dartplayer

Dartplayer Crème de la Crème

Aug 8, 2018
    New Zealand
    Hi IJ and welcome to the forum :cool: Not good, but sounds like no harm done but your pride. Good to pass on to others but brand would help them know if the purchased the same.
    I had Avon cobras fitted to my Bonnie, but have heard other brands fitted as well

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Vulpes

Vulpes Confused Member

Mar 14, 2018
    Netherlands
    Hi and welcome.

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. dilligaf

dilligaf Guest

Hi mate and welcome

• Agree Agree x 1
  6. David Cooper