Thruxton 1200r Electrical Problem

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Benno, Jan 14, 2021.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Benno

Benno New Member

Jan 14, 2021
    Australia
    Hi guys newbie here from Oz.
    I own a 2016 Triumph Thruxton 1200R and i have an annoying electrical problem. :mad: Every time the brakes are applied (front or rear) the 10 amp fuse number 3 blows, when this happens i lose my horn, my tail light and brake light and also the DRLs, the indicators remain working, so must be on another fuse. I replace the fuse and everything works fine until i apply one of the brake levers.
    Any ideas as what the problem might be? thanks in advance :cool:

2. crispey

crispey crispey creme de la creme

Nov 6, 2014
    Uk
    I’d suspect a wire shorting out and as it’s when each brake lever is used it looks like it’ll be down the brake light end, check for insulation being worn away on the wires. Change the bulb. Some electrical guru will be along soon to tell you how to run checks on relays or whatever is used

• Agree Agree x 3
  3. Ducatitotriumph

Ducatitotriumph Crème de la Crème

Apr 25, 2019
    Rothwell
    unplug the rear light and try. Then the front light.
    At least it'll get you closer to an eventual problem.
    Check the rear brake cable too!

4. Yorkshireman

Yorkshireman Crème de la Crème

Dec 12, 2015
    Barnsley
    Don’t use the brakes!:p

• Funny Funny x 5
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Sprinter

Sprinter Kinigit

Aug 17, 2014
    uk
    Hi.Yeah, you have a short in the brake light switch wire. IMHO.

• Agree Agree x 2
  6. Benno

Benno New Member

Jan 14, 2021
    Australia
    Have removed the loom that runs to the tail light and indicators, removed the hard plastic sheeting from it only to reveal everything ok. No insulation damage to any of the wires. Ran a continuity check on all the wires in that loom and all came up ok.

7. andyc1