Struggling Below 3000 Revolutions

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Gabor Papp, Oct 5, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Gabor Papp

Gabor Papp New Member

Oct 5, 2018
    Hungary
    Hi All,

I've been riding motorcycle just for a few months and I do not have much technical knowledge regarding motorcycles. But I think my Triumph Thunderbird 900 Sport yr 2000 is not really okay. It chokes, rides quite unsteady, unstable below ca. 3000 rpm, but it rides smoothly above that. It also drives well if the choke lever is on and it does not matter that the engine is hot or not. The mechanic made diagnostics and found everything within specified limits. Any idea what could be wrong? Thanks in advance.

2. Hack Driver

Hack Driver Well-Known Member

Oct 12, 2017
    Denton, Maryland USA
    Welcome to the forum! There are some things that you can't really 'check' with a cursory exam. As a starting point, I would strongly recommend trying some Lucas Fuel Treatment. It's good for injectors and carbs, and it's a low cost thing to try. I've had some amazing results in the past.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Erling

Erling Elite Member

Dec 12, 2017
    Norway
    Your description resembles my '97 Tbird's behaviour after last winter's storage. The ethanol in the 95 octane petrol had gummed up the idle jets. Emptying the tank and a 10 km ride with ethanol free 98 octane cured it. Ethanol mixed fuel does not store well.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  4. sprintdave

sprintdave Nurse,he's out of bed again

May 25, 2014
    Birmingham
    It may be a blockage in the pilot jets,I agree on the fuel treatment, any of them for cleaning the system will help, I run redex in my 900 Sprint which is virtually the same engine, also I believe Seafoam to be good too but it depends what is available as I note that you are in Hungary.