Squishy Front Brake Lever

Discussion in 'Bonneville' started by Photog_Steve, Mar 26, 2021.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Photog_Steve

Photog_Steve Well-Known Member

Jan 27, 2021
    Massachusetts
    Hi All;
    Have put about 300 miles now on my 2020 new Bonneville. One issue I have noticed is that occasionally, I will squeeze the front brake lever and it almost squeezes to the throttle lever. A quick release or two and it is back to normal where I can feel the resistance again. I am not a mechanic so I could use some advice. I was going to wait until my 500 mile checkup to address this since it does not happen often, but I think about it a lot.

I viewed a Youtube video where this person depressed the lever and tied it up overnight to dispel any air bubbles. I tried that but it didn't work. In 2.5 hours or riding yesterday, the squishy brake feel only happened once. I do notice a couple of bubbles in the sight-window of the brake fluid reservoir and do not know if that is normal.

(an extra note......My bad but a few weeks ago, I was balancing the bike to check the oil level and it tipped over. Broke off the tip of the front brake lever. Don't know if that upset anything else, causing this issue?)

Thanks in advance for any input.

• Agree Agree x 1
  2. Pegscraper

Pegscraper Elite Member

Jun 12, 2020
    Yorkshire