'squeak'/rubbing Noise On Front Wheel

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Murray, Aug 14, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Murray

Murray New Member

Aug 14, 2018
    London
    Hi all!

I'm relatively new to biking having just passed A license after a few years break! I've recently bought a new Thruxton R, and only done approx 10 miles, however there appears to be a high frequency 'squeak' emitting from the front wheel at low speeds (between 10-20) mph. As soon as I touch the front brake, this seems to disappear.

Frustrating due to the age of the bike! Is there something rubbing on the caliper?

Any advice very welcomed!

2. StrippleMont

StrippleMont Senior Member

Nov 5, 2016
    Round your way!
    With 10 miles on the clock, I'd take it straight back to the dealers.
    It is only brake squeal.... nothing to worry about.
    BUT....... you probably paid for a PDI (pre delivery inspection), and the backs of the pads should have had some copper-slip applied to them when the PDI was done.
    Sloppy dealership, take it back and get it done!

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. steve lovatt

steve lovatt Something else

May 12, 2014
    North Yorkshire
    Hi and welcome to the forum.
    Sounds like brake squeal - not a problem but dealer should have sorted it.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Rocker

Rocker Elite Member

May 1, 2016
    Suffolk
    If nothing is loose probably just needs some use bring her round and I'll run her in for you:p

• Like Like x 2
  5. Richard Neale

Richard Neale Active Member

Apr 20, 2018
    Northwich
    Maybe you need to bed the brakes in a bit. Try a firm application from speed a few times and see if it stops it by wearing off any high spots.. If you are a novice, you may be braking very gently ....

• Like Like x 1
  6. Murray

Murray New Member

Aug 14, 2018
    London