sports tourer tyre for 09 speed triple?

Discussion in 'Tyres' started by Cartman74, Sep 7, 2015.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Cartman74

Cartman74 New Member

Sep 7, 2015
    northampton
    Hi all.
    Am newbie here.
    Riding about 12 years.
    Have 09 speed triple, with suspension tuned to soft.
    Love open smooth flowing bends.
    Hate bumps and closed hair pins.
    OEM tyres got me to Scotty land and back in torrential rain. Loves the dry.
    So what next? Used to do a few miles 2up, but wife has sprog and now off road.
    So what tyre for quick road riding? 1/4 inch chicken strick in dry on OE
    Am obviously no riding god, but pain in ass to loose on real roads.
    Any suggestions gratefully received.

2. Red Thunder

Red Thunder Crème de la Crème

Dec 2, 2014
    High Wycombe
    #2 Red Thunder, Sep 8, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2015
    (2010 speed triple)

I have been using Metzeler M5 for the last 6 months, got 7k miles on the rear before a puncture and 1.5mm remaining required a replacement.
    I have now put on the Metzeler Z8 which is a touring orientated tyre with a harder compound centre and softer compound sides, the binding is also structured for stability and grip depending on the lean angle.

The M5 is a softer more sporty tyre, the Z8 is more longer distance touring type.

The front tyre still has lots of grip on it and not needing a change yet. Very good at stopping and plenty of feedback on the bends.

Deals for pairs of tyres can be found on ebay, I got some manufactured in 2011 that in new condition for £150 delivered.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Cartman74

Cartman74 New Member

Sep 7, 2015
    northampton
    Cheers for that. Very helpful

4. roadrider

roadrider First Class Member

Jul 26, 2013
    Oxon
    I'm on my second set of Pilot Road 4,s found them very good in th wet. Getting over 7,000 from the rears.

5. Cartman74