Spongy Brakes

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by MTBskier, May 3, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. MTBskier

MTBskier Well-Known Member

Mar 12, 2019
    Las Vegas, NV
    What did I do wrong? Just replaced the stock levers on my Speed Twin with Pazzo shorty levers. Easy enough job, I’ve done levers on other bikes in the past with no issues. After doing these however, the initial pull of my brake lever feels slightly spongy. If I release and pull again it grabs like it should, but the first pull definitely has more travel than before I swapped them. Also, there is an occasional squeal when pulling the brake lever at low speed. Anyone experience anything like this before? Any help is greatly appreciated!

2. Notso

Notso Senior Member

Dec 17, 2018
    Solihull
    #2 Notso, May 4, 2019
    Last edited: May 4, 2019
    I'm no expert, did the changes risk getting air in the hydraulics?

3. BigCLM

BigCLM Senior Member

Nov 30, 2017
    San Rafael, CA
    Yes, spongy brake feel usually means air in the system. I would re-bleed the brakes.

4. MTBskier

Mar 12, 2019
    Las Vegas, NV
    I finally dragged my ass into the dealership to ask, and they said I’ll have to bleed the brakes. I would have never guessed that just simply changing the levers would have introduced air into the system.

5. BigCLM

BigCLM Senior Member

Nov 30, 2017
    San Rafael, CA
    Glad you determined the problem. BTW, very cool bike you have.

upload_2019-5-4_8-6-21.png

• Like Like x 1
  6. freck

freck Elite Member

May 4, 2017
    Preston, Lancs, UK
    How on earth could changing the levers introduce air into the brake system?!?
    I’d be checking for a weeping union or caliper seal somewhere

• Agree Agree x 3
    • Useful Useful x 1
  7. MTBskier

Mar 12, 2019
    Las Vegas, NV