[solved] Throttle Return & Handlebar Change.

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Samuel F, Aug 28, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Samuel F

Samuel F Well-Known Member

Mar 24, 2015
    Glasgow
    Good morning fellow friends !

Question 1:

My throttle doesn't automatically return anymore. Of course I always have the habit of manualy roll the throttle back when its needed, but if I let go, it doesn't snap back to default position.
    An element I find hazardous.
    Is it an easy fix ?

Question 2:
    After taping my grips, see image here, I find them too bulky, and could use some thinning. I have seen pictures of bikes simply using the brooks grips, replacing the whole grip for something more stylish. So yes, it is purely an aesthetic problem. Is is something easily doable ? I have no knowledge of the interior mecanism of a throttle ( no shit, it's me... :p ) and doesn't know if it's just a plug and play system or if it takes more know-how than this.

I very much welcome links to videos you will find suitable to help.
    Thanks guys.

2. Callumity

Callumity Elite Member

Feb 25, 2017
    Nr Biggar
    The first question is have you actually changed the bars? If the throttle does not return you have too much friction somewhere or a duff spring at the carbs. The former is more likely - lack of cable lubricant, too tight a bend in the cable or cleaning/lubing the twistgrip itself......or just possibly the new bars are a smidgen too tight on the grip.

3. Samuel F

Mar 24, 2015
    Glasgow
    No I haven't. The first thing I have done so far is simply wrap my grips in thin leather.

That must be a lubrification problem indeed, as I never "cared" for those in particular. Thanks for the answer.

4. thebiglad

thebiglad Old fart, still riding !

Sep 25, 2013
    Central France
    #4 thebiglad, Aug 28, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2017