Should I ?

Discussion in 'Thunderbird' started by russ_fae_fyvie, Oct 1, 2014.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. russ_fae_fyvie

russ_fae_fyvie New Member

Oct 1, 2014
    Fyvie, Aberdeenshire
    #1 russ_fae_fyvie, Oct 1, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2014
    Hi

I thought I'd join the Forum because I am looking for some unbiased opinions about whether I should buy a Storm ?

OK, so maybe not much unbiased !

I have been riding since 1970 on a variety of bikes and currently own a Blackbird, CB1000r and a Transalp.

I have actually just swapped the TA for my 2012 Crosstourer which, although a great bike, is too tall and unweildly so the TA was bought to use during the upcoming Scottish winter and also to use around the narrow roads across on the West Coast.

So to my point (finally!)

I was looking for something that I can take my missus on for touring holidays but I didn't want a tourer then last week somebody parked an LT next to me at work and I reckon it looked fantastic, however I am now more attracted to the Storm because most of its life would be spent with just me on it but by the lookes of it with a few additions woucl be turned into a part time tourer.

Problem is, none of my previous bikes have been of the feet forward variety and although the bike looks supremely comfortable and laid back (with the power of course!) I wondered if anyone had found riding this style of bike more difficult than a 'normal' bike.

Locally there are very few to test ride and I'd be reluctant to try one straight off without some advice from real life owners, not just salesmen !

Also wondered what they are like to live with on a daily basis and if there are any problems to look out for on a 2 or 3 year old bike?

thanks in advance

• Like Like x 1
  2. folkbloke

folkbloke Well-Known Member

Jul 20, 2013
    Sussex
    #2 folkbloke, Oct 1, 2014