Shim Removal Tool Or Remove Cams

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Bassy, Jan 16, 2021.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Bassy

Bassy Member

Sep 23, 2019
    Bedfordshire
    Hi Guys doing valve check on Sprint, most of the inlet measurements I've taken point to re shiming so my questions are:-
    1. Do I use the T3880012 (which I will need to purchase)
    2. Do I just put engine into TDC and remove Cam.
    3. If I go down the route of using T3880012 has any one got one they won't to sell or I can borrow.

Peoples thoughts or peoples experience i be grateful for input.

Cheers
    Bassy

• Like Like x 1
  2. StuarT595

StuarT595 Active Member

Nov 19, 2020
    South West UK
    The tools turn up used on eBay every now and again, always worth a look.
    I’m no mechanic, but if you don’t mind buying a couple of extra gaskets, it’s probably as quick to take your cam off, just as long as you know what shims are going in?
    I’ve recently removed mine...with the Haynes manual it was really straight forward, no gremlins!
    Good luck with it all.

C58DEC8A-F5BB-4DF2-84C3-F311FE20A7BE.png

3. Yorkshireman

Yorkshireman Crème de la Crème

Dec 12, 2015
    Barnsley
    If the shims are on top of the buckets, ie directly in contact with the cam I’d say use the tool, it’ll save undoing the cam chain tensioner and cams every time you need to check clearance after shim change.

• Like Like x 2
  4. XCaTel

XCaTel Senior Member

Feb 22, 2018
    Ireland
    You should have knowledge of how many shims you need to replace after your measurements by now. It really is a yes/no decision. If they are in range leave them, it is not the intention to try and re-shim to the middle of the range.