Seat Height

Discussion in 'Triumph General Discussion' started by mpllineman, Apr 28, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. mpllineman

mpllineman First Class Member

Feb 12, 2018
    Pearl,Ms.
    I have a question for you. How many here can plant their feet firmly on the ground astride your bike? I have been on such a low sitting bike for so long, it was not an issue. I really don't remember having this problem as a younger man, so it could just be that recently bikes have grown taller. We all understand the need for ground clearance. Thanks guys for any reply!

• Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. Scoot65

Scoot65 Well-Known Member

Dec 3, 2015
    DURHAM
    I can

• Like Like x 1
  3. dilligaf

dilligaf Guest

I have my BPOS Speedmaster and feet on the floor is not a problem :)
    In fact it is now fitted with a Maverick seat and my bloody arse is nearly on the floor :eek::p

• Like Like x 1
  4. mpllineman

Feb 12, 2018
    Pearl,Ms.
    Thanks guys for the reply. I am considering another bike and it's just a smidge too tall, tip toes with bike stood straight up. I guess I could have the dealer install some linkage to lower a bit, but I'm not sure if this would affect the handling. Oh well, ain't life grand when this is your biggest problem!

5. Scoot65

Scoot65 Well-Known Member

Dec 3, 2015
    DURHAM
    That's the reason I got a Speedmaster....... low seat height.
    I had a Suzuki Bandit and I was tip-toes, doesn't inspire confidence when coming to a stand still and having to put your foot down.

I got an upholsterer to sculpture / scoop out the seat foam an inch or or two sand then recover the seat. I found this helped quite a bit.

Maybe this and fitting the lowering brackets would be a good strategy.....

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Johnjo

Johnjo Senior Member

May 29, 2017
    Birmingham