Oil Pan-'13 Street Triple 675

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Revit675, Oct 21, 2021.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Revit675

Revit675 New Member

Oct 21, 2021
    Harrison, AR
    Hey everyone,
    Just had a quick question. Looking for some help on an issue im having with a mechanic.
    Long story short im having repairs done because of some metal pieces from the engine case that may or may not be in the oil pan. When i contacted the shop my bike is at to see if they could just pull the oil pan to see of the pieces are in there, they told me my bike doesnt have a "traditional" oil pan and can only be removed by pulling the entire engine out and likely going to cost me $2000-$3000 in labor alone. My question is, what is a "traditional" oil pan and how would mine be any different? Do you think im better off bringing it home and doing it myself? Im by no means a mechanic, but have done most of the maintanance and small modifications myself.

• Agree Agree x 1
  2. Adie P

Adie P Crème de la Crème

Jul 7, 2018
    MID DEVON
    #2 Adie P, Oct 21, 2021
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2021
    I'd suggest that you find a motorcycle mechanic quickly - and get your bike away from the person that currently has it since he, clearly, isn't talking sense. Either that or he's completely misunderstanding your requirements.

It sounds like you need to drain the oil - and keep it so that it can be strained to check for metallic parts - remove the sump pan (Triumph part number T1230138) and replace with a new gasket (Triumph part number T1230119) if it's all clear.

All here :-

https://www.fowlersparts.co.uk/parts/5596558/street-triple-from-vin-560477/sump-fittings

Good luck.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Ducatitotriumph

Ducatitotriumph Crème de la Crème

Apr 25, 2019
    Rothwell
    I think it’s worth a call to a triumph dealer and just ask a question?