Newbie With Eml On Issue

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by alan ramsay, Oct 8, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. alan ramsay

alan ramsay Member

Oct 8, 2017
    forfar
    Hello , all, i am a newbie to here but not a new triumph owner having had a 2001 triumph thunderbird for a couple of years and love it , i recently bought a sportier bike , a 2000 TT600 which is a one owner bike with less than 8000 miles and truly immaculate ,(paid £950) it hasnt turned a wheel for a couple of years but starts and goes great , unfortunately the engine management fault light is on , the bike has smooth power delivery and i have taken it for twenty miles with no issues but i dont want to do any more till i get to the seat of the problem , my issue is i live in the north east of scotland a long way from a triumph dealer and although i have a code reader it doesnt do bikes so i am stuck , any suggestions would be welcome either to read the codes or fix the light , thanks very much in advance , ps the bike is lovely and i love th elooks and dont understand the ugly bike rep ,cheers

2. dilligaf

dilligaf Guest

Although you're code reader doesn't do bikes it might still be able to clear codes...give it a try..you never know
    Another way is to ride the bike or get it up to temperature 3 times letting it cool down properly between runs
    This can clear codes...if not then you'll need a reader that can tell you what the problem is
    Good luck mate

• Agree Agree x 2
  3. alan ramsay

alan ramsay Member

Oct 8, 2017
    forfar
    ok , i will try the three times to temp thing as my reader wont clear as it keeps coming up no connection ,thanks

• Like Like x 1
  4. alan ramsay

alan ramsay Member

Oct 8, 2017
    forfar