New (to me) 2000 955i

Discussion in 'Daytona' started by Riceburner, Apr 19, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Riceburner

Riceburner New Member

Hi All,
    Hoping to get some advice on a new to me bike:
    It's not been run for a couple of years, and was involved in a low-speed off where the plastics were damaged, and there's an oil leak from the engine. I suspect the oil leak is a crack in either the alt-cover, or the clutch cover, either of which should be a relatively easy fix (I hope).

But I was hoping to get some advice on more general matters - I've been riding a BMW twin for the past 13 years or so, so I'm a little out-of-touch with more modern engines.

So - the usual newbie questions:
    Normal service intervals?
    Does anyone have a PDF of the factory service manual by any chance?
    Or is there somewhere to buy it?
    Best oil? (I know - a controversial topic! ;) )
    Advice for chain tension and is there a recommended tool for adjusting the chain tension?

Does anyone have any good links for previous cafe-racer or street-fighter conversions and what needs to be done? I'm not sure what direction I'll go in for the re-build, but I'm not a big fan of fairings... ;)

• Like Like x 1
  2. MickEng

MickEng Noble Member

Sep 29, 2016
    West Yorkshire
    Hi Riceburner.
    First job for me would be to investigate and fix that oil leak.

3. Riceburner

Riceburner New Member

Absolutely. Luckily I've seen similar damage on previous bikes of my own so I'm not expecting any big problems, unless there's any weird things about the 955i engine that I ought to know?. :)

4. Rich Bryce

Rich Bryce Dead Eye Dick

Sep 18, 2015
    Bedford
    So that's what happened when I dropped my bugger - either that or my riding skills (your turn DD).

• Like Like x 1
  5. Riceburner

Riceburner New Member

Cheers
    (copied here for reference)

Another probably obvious question: