New T100 Owner

Discussion in 'Newbies Hangout' started by Jalapeenoz, Apr 16, 2021.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Jalapeenoz

Jalapeenoz New Member

Jul 22, 2020
    Illinois, US
    Greetings from the heartland, Illinois! Just took possession of a 2010 T100 yesterday. Even more beautiful in person than pictures. I just started riding three years ago on my first bike, a 1980 Honda CM400. It was fine to learn on and use around town, but I wanted something a little bigger and more powerful to take on longer trips, interstates, etc.

First impression, umm WOW! Everything is much more responsive than what I've been used to. Plenty of grunt seems to be on tap from any rpm in any gear. I have to be much more delicate with the throttle and brakes. I have to laugh when I read reviews about bikes only having one disc brake on front and rear. My Honda has drum brakes on front and rear. Yes, let that sink in for a moment.

Took a short 25-30 mile ride yesterday when I got it. Fired right up with no choke adjustment. I will need to get used to the additional size and weight, riding dynamics, and responsiveness, but I'm sure that will not take much time. The deep throaty, yet peaceful exhaust note is great. Love everything about the bike except for the seat, which feels like sitting on a 2x8, and the foldable foot pegs. Is that natural for all of these bikes? It's a little unsettling when I go to shift and the foot peg moves.

Here is a pic. It only has 2500 miles on it. Previous owner brought it into a Triumph dealer in Des Moines every year for service, but apparently didn't ride it much. Dealer finally convinced him to sell it to them. Looks like the only things he added were a rear grab rail and a center stand (yay!). I put some inexpensive Viking bags on it. Not sure I like the way I had to mount them, but they look ok for now and should do for a while.

Cheers mates!

Bike.jpg