New Rider.....dumb Questions....

Discussion in 'Triumph Twin Power' started by Edbanger, Sep 8, 2018.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Edbanger

Edbanger New Member

Mar 15, 2018
    Thanet , England
    hello all,
    well, i recently passed my bike test, well, 5 days ago actually. im completely new to bikes of any sort...never ridden till i did my direct access.
    Anyway, today i took out a 2018 street twin on demo from my local dealer,for a couple of hours.a mate came along on his yamaha r1 just to keep me company.. i absolutely loved it. i've been researching etc for months, youtube videos have taken up a big portion of my life recently..lol.
    i passed my test on a kawasaki z650, so its the only bike i have ridden to compare the ST to.
    the triumph was by far the more comfortable, mature ,best sounding and relaxed ride.
    i have a few questions about the bike tho.

1. i see the bike has adjustable clutch,brake levers. what does it actually adjust? i assumed it would move the levers closer/further away from the handlebar grip for long/short fingers.. but the clutch lever didn't seem to move at all, but the biting point was within the last 2cm of lever travel. ?

2. im really loving the look of the matte black colour, but what are they like in the real world to look after? is it really any different from a gloss paint?

3.brakes..... now whilst they were adequate, they were nowhere near as good as the z650(it has twin discs).
    what is the easiest way to get a stronger bite...new pads/brake hoses??

4. that's it.....everything else was spot on...

i haven't ordered one yet, i promised my friend id try a yamaha mt07 next week..but i think in my heart, the street twin is the perfect match for me, my style of riding and for what i will use it for, and so easy for a new rider...
    trouble is i like alot of different styles of bike, but i cant have them all...