Motorway Riding

Discussion in 'Triumph General Discussion' started by Strike Sure, Jul 29, 2013.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Strike Sure

Strike Sure New Member

Jul 21, 2013
    London
    #1 Strike Sure, Jul 29, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2013
    Motorway Riding **UPDATE**

Morning

I am rather new to riding and have to make my first motorway journey this week down the M1 from Milton Keynes to South London
    Just wondering if there is any advice / tips to adhere to while on the motorway. Just a bit worried about getting blown across the motorway as it can be rather windy in certain parts.

Many thanks from a novice rider

2. SpankyHam

SpankyHam Member

Apr 17, 2013
    Wrexham, North Wales
    Plan plenty of time so you don't need to rush and just treat it the same as a dual carriageway. Will be easier than you think I'm sure but it is daunting the first time on one riding a bike.

• Like Like x 2
  3. Richard H

Richard H Noble Member

Oct 26, 2012
    Swadlincote Derbyshire England
    I like to keep well away from the lorries and HGVs in the slow lane so spend most of my time in the centre or overtaking lane. I always do an over the shoulder check when moving between lanes as there is often a car in your mirror blind spot. Try if possible to plan your route away from motorways they are boring and tiring on a bike.

By the way its a great feeling when all 3 lanes are stationary and you can filter between the lanes; you just need to keep a look out for anyone doing a last minute lane change in front of you.

Am sure you will be fine :upyeah:

• Like Like x 1
  4. chrispy

chrispy Well-Known Member

May 1, 2013
    Salisbury,wiltshire