Legend Tt 900 1997 Fuel Leaking

Discussion in 'Newbies Hangout' started by Ashley, Aug 1, 2017.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Ashley

Ashley New Member

Aug 1, 2017
    West Yorkshire
    I'm no mechanic and don't know an awful lot about the bikes other than taking them out for a ride however my bike is leaking fuel from a black box at the side of my carbs which is also linked.
    As I've not yet passed my test I'm not in a position to take it for a ride so I've just been ticking it over every so often.

The last couple of times I've had my bike out I switch on the fuel tap, choke which has normally needed to be on and turning the ignition. For some reason I've switched off the engine and fuel has leaked. Today it sounded as if it's miss firing every so often and when revving it it's as if there was nothing there. Switch the engine off and again fuel leaking.

Can anybody help please :)

20170801_140717.jpg

2. bogg

bogg Senior Member

Feb 21, 2016
    west sussex
    #2 bogg, Aug 1, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2017
    Is your fuel tap on prime? If so that will do it, if not sticky float..just zoomed in on the picture looks like after market tap so no prime.so sticky float try running red x through it

3. Ashley

Ashley New Member

Aug 1, 2017
    West Yorkshire
    I'm not too sure to be honest. I will check. I only knew on off and res. Am I best getting a genuine tap and replacing the one currently on?
    I will look at getting the red x thank you

4. bogg

bogg Senior Member

Feb 21, 2016
    west sussex
    Tap should be fine. Try draining float bowls as well. Get a Haynes manual, that will help with all sorts of things.

5. Ashley

Ashley New Member

Aug 1, 2017
    West Yorkshire
    Yes I will do that. I looked for one earlier but only found version for 1998 and above. I will contact Haynes tomorrow. Thanks again Bogg

6. bogg

bogg Senior Member

Feb 21, 2016