I Must Be Old - Best Bike Improvements

Discussion in 'Triumph General Discussion' started by TonyG, Jun 12, 2021.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. TonyG

TonyG Noble Member

Dec 1, 2016
    Bucks
    The 2 things that seem to have improved my bike the most are a pair of gel cycling shorts and some decent ear plugs. Should have done this before I got new shocks etc!!I I can now ride a few hundred miles without too much arse ache and the whole bike seems to feel better with some new Bollsen ear plugs in. I've been using some custom made UlimateEar plugs for the last 10 years but these standard Bollsen ones are definitely better. Much less wind noise and makes the engine seem almost smoother somehow.

• Like Like x 4
    • Useful Useful x 1
  2. Cyborgbot

Cyborgbot Guest

Totally agree. I have found armoured jeans and earplugs have also made difference to my riding enjoyment.

My Sena 50S also allows me to talk to friends and listen to some good tunes along a ride.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Chubzilla

Chubzilla Well-Known Member

Oct 3, 2020
    Black country
    Gotta say I always liked the look of textile trousers but having armoured jeans makes the ride soo much more enjoyable and comfortable but recently getting leathers as helped even more.

My best improvement is tied between new tyres and heavier fork springs

• Useful Useful x 1
  4. Richard Goss

Richard Goss Senior Member

Jan 6, 2019
    Newbury
    +1 for ear plugs. I find the cheap foam ones work best for me.
    I love my Sat Nav. I can plan a nice ride out and then just let the Sat Nav direct me. Have it set up with my Nolan N-Com headset so get speed limit and camera alerts as well. Has probably saved me a few point on my license :)

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Tigcraft

Tigcraft Unheard of Member

Mar 29, 2014
    Holmfirth West Yorkshire
    Any pics of you wearing cycle gel cycling shorts?