Help choose a bonneville to a total newbie!

Discussion in 'Bonneville' started by Gabrys, Sep 6, 2016.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Gabrys

Gabrys New Member

Sep 6, 2016
    Lithuania
    Hello to all!
    I just joined the forum and i just got my licence to ride a bike. Always wanted a bonnie, but can't decide on the optimal price/year ratio.
    So my question is what bonneville (year etc.) would you recommend to a total newbie? I would love to buy a street twin, but it is too expensive for now.

Thank you in advance!

2. MrOrange

MrOrange Guest

Don't buy a new bike, you will probably drop it at some point in your first year, you will scape it getting it out of the garage, it will get stone chipped by going down a crappy road. Losing the shine on a brand new bike is heartbreaking, and all the more likely being a newbie.

Buy a 3 year old bike, good condition, full service history, - someone else taken the initial hit on depreciation, but you will know there is nowt wrong with it. It will have some small marks and scrapes, but you will love it just as much as a brand new bike.

In a year or so, when you've made all your rooky mistakes, go buy a new one if you want.

Just my opinion :confused:, don't even know if I answered your question !!!!:D:D:D:D

• Like Like x 2
  3. thebiglad

thebiglad Old fart, still riding !

Sep 25, 2013
    Central France
    Completely agree with Mr. Orange - the early years of bike ownership can leave some scars so you're better off buying something that's already 'seen a bit of life' so to speak.

I would say look for a bonny in the age range of '05 to '10, 10 to 20,000mls, an SE or a T100.

• Like Like x 1
  4. toffeeboy

toffeeboy Active Member

Jul 21, 2016
    cheshire