Scrambler Enduro type of tires for Scrambler

Discussion in 'Thruxton, Scrambler & Trident' started by MattScrambler, Mar 18, 2016.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. MattScrambler

MattScrambler Member

Mar 16, 2016
    London
    Hey Guys,
    I'm new to motorcycle as well as riding. I recently passed the full licence, got myself a beautiful black Scrambler. I would like to make it my own and do some mods. I like the enduro look of some dual-sport tires like the Continental TKC80 but I have some questions about these type of tires. Do they grip as well as standard ones? Would it be adapted for commuting in in the city and could they wear faster than in off road conditions?
    Cheers

2. thebiglad

thebiglad Old fart, still riding !

Sep 25, 2013
    Central France
    Hi Matt, TKC 80's are very much off-road tyres,TKC 70's are little more mixed terrain jobbies, but there are lots of other alternatives such Heidenau tyres, Trailwings, etc etc.

On-road tyre designs have certain characteristics,off-road tyres are significantly different -so trying to find something with the look of an offroader but the security on road is not an easy task, but not insurmountable.

Just bear in mind that if you are 100% on-road, using a 'mixed' will be a compromise.

• Like Like x 1
  3. MrOrange

MrOrange Guest

Off road tyres will never be as good as road tyres. They don't grip as well, especially in the wet, due to a lot less rubber being in contact with the ground and less silica in the tyre compound, they will wear a lot faster than if only used off road, where the mud deforms and tarmac doesn't.
    My Michelin AC10 on the front of my KTM has worn down in 1200 miles and the strangest of wear patterns !!! The shoulder knobblies are now triangular sloping back from the leading edge.