Downshifting Past First?!?

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Dominic Jones, May 7, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Dominic Jones

Dominic Jones New Member

Nov 29, 2018
    UK
    Hello all,

This might be a stupid question, I’m new to bikes, brought a street triple 2011, not rode it yet as I’ve not passed my test.

I noticed the other day that if I shift gears while its turned off, it goes up and down all the gears just fine, and goes into neutral ok, but when its in first I can keep pressing the lever down over and over, it feels like theres more gears as it seems to clunk each time but stays in first, is this normal?

Every bike I’ve tried the lever goes solid when in first so you know when theres no more gears, or will it be different when the bikes running and under load?

Got me a bit worried but I’ve not long put a new gear actuator and linkage on so not sure if its something to do with that. Its all firm and solid though and does shift up and down just fine.....

Dom.

2. RSReggie

RSReggie Active Member

Apr 9, 2019
    North West UK
    Hi Dominic, you need to get your test done and ride the bike instead of messing ;)
    You cant go below first gear ! there MAY be some play in the mechanism that feels like you describe. If in doubt about mods you made, you can always return to standard BUT you best try it (or let someone who rides try it ) Hope you soon get on the road !

• Agree Agree x 2
  3. thebiglad

thebiglad Old fart, still riding !

Sep 25, 2013
    Central France
    Hi Dom, if your description is correct it sounds like there is something wrong.

Every bike I've ever owned or ridden works the same; going down through the gears to 1st, it should feel blocked like it can't go any further.

Are you doing this with the engine running, and are you sure you are getting into 1st?

4. Eldon

Eldon Elite Member

Nov 14, 2018
    North Yorkshire