Featured Does Anyone Know Anything About My Union Jack Bonnie?

Discussion in 'Bonneville' started by MartyWilson, Jul 19, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. MartyWilson

MartyWilson Guest

#1 MartyWilson, Jul 19, 2020
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 19, 2020
    Hi all, looking for some help from all you Bonnie experts. My bike, pictured, is a 2001 790cc Bonneville with waving Union Jacks on both sides of the tank. It was sold new by Jack Lilley Motorcycles to a Mr Greenway in September 2001. I am no expert but I have never seen another one like this in the months I have been perusing used and new Bonnies and trawling through images of Bonnies online I haven't been able to turn up a single picture of one. There is no indication on the bike or in any of the paperwork (the owner was meticulous and kept everything including a handwritten 'diary' of the few changes and services carried out since purchase)
    I am interested to know why it was painted the way it is, and whether it is hand painted or a decal of some sort - There is no raised area to suggest that it's a decal or 'sticker' and the two sides, while seemingly very close don't look quite identical. Was it possibly a 'special' for the release of the new Bonnies in 2001? All information greatfully received.

IMG_20200717_161301_resized_20200717_044541260.jpg

I have to say that I was a little amused to discover that 19 years and just shy of eight thousand miles later I paid, including delivery, the same amount of quids as the original purchase price :)

• Like Like x 10
  2. Alatamoc

Alatamoc Senior Member

Mar 29, 2019
    Uk
    Triumph used to sell the union jack decals as a custom option....maybe someone bought these and added them?
    You can see them more often on Bonneville America models, especially... for some reason...on USA bikes.
    I could be wrong though.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1