Daytona 600 - Tricking Noise

Discussion in 'Daytona' started by Timothy Cossa, Apr 24, 2015.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Timothy Cossa

Timothy Cossa New Member

Apr 21, 2015
    Chester, UK
    Morning all,

I'm new to Triumphs and bought myself a low miles Triumph Daytona 600, year 2003.

Last couple of mornings on the commute to work I have heard a ticking noise that seems to become more apparent when at lower rpm's, say 3,500/4,000 or slightly higher at 5,500. It seems to be related with the throttle, as if I keep the bike at a steady rpm the noise isn't so loud, if I throttle on a bit and say to go from 30mph to 40mph and move through the rpm's mentioned above the ticking noise seems to become louder. I change gear and drop the rpm's again and the noise subsides slightly.

Any ideas? Or is this normal? Maybe related to like injectors etc.
    Someone I know mention the clutch basket rattling. Tbh I'm clueless.

Any help guys would be greatly appreciated.

Tim

2. crispey

crispey crispey creme de la creme

Nov 6, 2014
    Uk
    Could it be the fuel injector solenoids?

3. Timothy Cossa

Timothy Cossa New Member

Apr 21, 2015
    Chester, UK
    I wouldn't know, I did see on another forum somewhere that injectors themselves can be noisy on certain bikes, but apparently the injectors used on the daytonas from my year of bike are like quite in comparison to some.

But then again, I could be missing what it is your getting at?

4. crispey

crispey crispey creme de la creme

Nov 6, 2014
    Uk
    I read that the injector solenoids can get noisy, ticking sound, my bike does it, 6,000 mile Thruxton as do others, as you asked the question about injectors I thought I'd mention them but as you've ruled that out then it isn't .