Buying A Speed Triple ?

Discussion in 'Speed Triple' started by Too hot, Jul 12, 2019.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Too hot

Too hot Well-Known Member

Jul 9, 2019
    Costa del Clyde Scotchland
    Just a newbie here and looking for some advice on what to buy.
    I had a BMW R9T for a while but felt it was too small cramped and uncomfortable for me.(hopefully the speed triple is bigger?)
    Now that went a while ago and now the GSA has gone too I’m searching the classifieds for a Speed triple.
    Ideally I’m looking for something as late as possible budget stretching !! Can anyone advise on which model to go for early or late what are the pros and cons of each version ?
    Any advice appreciated or anyone selling give me a shout, thanks

2. tcbandituk

Subscriber

Apr 8, 2016
    Reading
    Welcome!

Not sure a Speed Triple will have more room than an R9T, have a look here to check.

http://cycle-ergo.com/

3. Red Thunder

Red Thunder Crème de la Crème

Dec 2, 2014
    High Wycombe
    I had a 2016 Speed Triple but didn't get on well with the ABS and Traction Control, the ride by wire annoyed me too
    So sold it and went for a round eyed 2010 Speed Triple

Suspension can be a bit soft so you may wasn't to retain some budget for upgrading the suspension to your weight and riding style, wiring can also be upgraded on the 2010 to give a better charge to the battery and higher voltage to the starter motor

2018 bikes seem to be having ongoing issues with their engines from 4th to 5th gear, not engaging revving and then snapping into gear damaging the teeth, reports are of engine rebuilds under warranty

2010 years are holding their prices very well - around GBP £5,000 to 5,500 depending on mileage

There is a 2018 Speed Triple 'Dark' for sale someone here posted yesterday, these are very rare and desirable due to their unique paint job, only 50 made each year