Beginner Looking For Advice On Learning To Ride And Which Bike!

Discussion in 'Newbies Hangout' started by Jaypan80, Jun 2, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Jaypan80

Jaypan80 New Member

Jun 2, 2020
    Newport Pagnell
    Hi Guys, newbie here, haven't even got a bike yet. Learning this year and i'm hoping to get some much needed advice regarding beginner bikes etc. Hope you are all well.

• Agree Agree x 1
  2. Bad Billy

Bad Billy Baddest Member

Jun 1, 2017
    Southern Softyville
    Hi Mate & Welcome to the Forum :cool:

Newbie bikes are a difficult thing, depends on whether you've ridden off road/field bikes & have a feeling for throttle control & braking on more slippery surfaces. Assuming you have no experience at all, then I would advise do some time on a learner legal 125 to gain experience, if you are doing direct access test then things are a little more down to personal taste, what you want from your bike & what you'll use it for.

One thing I would strongly advise is to seek further more advanced training after passing your test, it will help you develop you skills & keep you safer. :)

• Agree Agree x 6
    • Like Like x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  3. TEZ 217

TEZ 217 Crème de la Crème

Mar 6, 2016
    south shields
    Welcome in Jaypan, Good luck with your lessons take it easy and all will be fine, Only bit of advice I would give to a learner or newly qualified biker is dont go for the biggest or the best, start of with a decent cheap bike until you've gained a bit of self experience and awareness on the road, we all make mistakes and daft choices in newly learnt skills and if the worst should ever happen or even if you just drop it :mad:, if the bike didn't cost much or owe you a lot of money its easier to take on the chin and sort out and carry on, Its all part of the fun,
    Enjoy :D:D:cool:

• Agree Agree x 7
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1