2022 Street Triple Rs Battery Maintenance - Help!

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Rich Martin, Nov 23, 2022.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Rich Martin

Rich Martin New Member

Nov 23, 2022
    Cotswolds
    Morning All,

I'm new to biking and just picked up a new 2022 Street Triple RS, loving the bike so far.

Its obviously going to be stored (Warm / dry garage) for a little while over winter - as I don't envisage me getting out unless I get the occasional good dry weekend! But I don't have power in the garage.

I bought a CTEK CS FREE to use - as it is essentially a rechargeable battery that I can attach to the bike battery terminals and keeps it topped up. Then every few weeks, I need to disconnect it and recharge the CTEK unit.

Does anyone else use this type of set up, and from what I have seen, the terminals are pretty small on the battery - how do people do this without the ability to connect additional loops for a permanent connection on the bike - this isn't compatible with the CS FREE as it delivers 20A when the accessories are rated to 10A.

Appreciate your help!

Rich

2. Baza

Baza Elite Member

Jul 25, 2020
    Home of Amazing Grace
    If it is at all possible I would run power to the garage and use a decent battery tender like an Optimate that does far more than just put some juice into the battery.

• Agree Agree x 3
  3. Rich Martin

Rich Martin New Member

Nov 23, 2022
    Cotswolds
    Thanks. Unfortunately it’s about 125m from the nearest power source to the bike storage. So not really an option until I can make space in the main barn.
    But the Ctek CS FREE is a fully automated top of the line device for maintaining a battery remotely. I was just wondering if anyone else uses it and has a solution!

4. nickjaxe

nickjaxe Active Member

Sep 2, 2020
    Cheshire UK