2017 T120 Should I Buy?

Discussion in 'Bonneville' started by Perkybus, Jan 29, 2021.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Perkybus

Perkybus New Member

Jan 28, 2021
    Florida
    Hello everyone, first post for this newbie here. I could use the forum's expert advice! I'm considering buying this 2017 T120. I rode it for over an hour today and it ran beautifully, the problem(?) is that the bike only has 3000 miles on it and everything looks pristine except the engine and pipes. The engine is spotted everywhere (see photo, wasn't going to post because I thought it was from road until I started reading about transmission issues here) Any opinions on this? Does this look like a hint to transmission or other major engine work done already? If this could be cleaned off, why didn't the dealer do it like he did everything else? Additionally, bike has been for sale for over 5 months! As I wrote earlier, I rode for an hour and it seemed to run beautifully, but I'm a new rider so what do I know. Dealer is selling for $9000 otd. Not really a deal, seems to be the going price on this used. Bonus if you recognize this bike for all you Florida peeps. Thanks in advance for any advice on whether to buy.

IMG_9329.jpg

IMG_9330.PNG

• Like Like x 1
  2. Yorkshireman

Yorkshireman Crème de la Crème

Dec 12, 2015
    Barnsley
    That’s just a bit of surface corrosion and will easily polish out, it’s no indication of any serious engine work. If you rode the bike for an hour (good that you did) and it was fine up and down the gears then it would appear to be ok.
    I wouldn’t worry too much about it being there for 5 months, in the current climate not too much is moving in the way of used bike sales cos if it’s anything like here the showrooms are closed to physical viewing.