2009 Speedmaster Efi Wont Crank Over Just Click

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Bobble26, Jan 24, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Bobble26

Bobble26 New Member

Jan 24, 2020
    barrow-in-furness
    Hello I hope someone can help, as i have read as many forums as i can but no joy.
    I have a 2009 Speedmaster EFI, which won't start. when i press the starter button i get just one click from the starter solenoid, then nothing for about 20 seconds, then another click from the ECU relay and then I can get another press and the same one click.
    I have checked the battery and 12.8v, I have also tried to jump start using another bike, and showing 13.4 volts, just the same. so kind of thinking not battery. I have fitted new starter motor, along with starter solenoid and change over relay. if I bypass the change over relay, and press the button I can get the bike to crank, but no spark. when I turn on the bike, the fuel pump will prime.
    I have checked the engine earth, cleaned it and replaced. all ECU connections look clean and good.
    bike is on center stand, and in neutral, kill switch in run position.
    i think i have checked every thing, but must be missing something so any suggestions gratefully received

2. Wishbone

Wishbone First Class Member

Nov 4, 2018
    Essex UK
    History? how long have you had it, when did problem start, but it could be an ECU issue so diagnostics could be helpful.

3. Bobble26

Bobble26 New Member

Jan 24, 2020
    barrow-in-furness
    had the bike about 18 months, the starting issues about 2 months ago. I have plug a Diagnostics computer in and showing no faults.
    when the problem started I was just going out for a ride, pushed the button and nothing, I only rode the bike the day before.

4. Callumity

Callumity Elite Member

Feb 25, 2017
    Nr Biggar