1998 Triumph Thunderbird Fuel Leak And Poor Fueling Issues

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Stompingbinkie, Oct 12, 2013.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Stompingbinkie

Stompingbinkie New Member

Oct 12, 2013
    Afternoon guys and girls. Newbie here and I've come across your site due to a sick Thunderbird.

It's a 98 model and have had no trouble with it until now. Went into the garage and was greeted with a strong smell of petrol, on closer inspection I found it was leaking from the over flow pipe on left hand side of the air box. Turning the fuel tap to "off" has stopped it for now but obviously theres a problem.

Also when I ride it now it's very buckaroo like on steady throttle and small low rev throttle openings, if I get the revs up and pin it she flys as normal.

I'm pretty sure the two are related and that's the reason I'm here. HELP!

Thanks in advance for any info you can supply.

2. chrispy

chrispy Well-Known Member

May 1, 2013
    Salisbury,wiltshire
    Welcome to the forum, it might be that you've picked up some crappy fuel ,it sounds like the float needle's stuck ,you will have to take the carbs to bits and give it a clean.

3. Stompingbinkie

Oct 12, 2013
    Thanks for the reply Chrispy,

WOW what a pain in the arse it is to get just the airbox off! I did in the end with ALOT of swearing and i also removed the carbs to clean them out and also see if the floats were stuck.
    There was no real grime in there and the float pins seems to move freely, i used carb cleaner to spruce them up, i also checked the diaphragms and there intact with no splits.
    Put it all back together with a little more swearing and there is no difference, just as it was before?

Any other suggestions:upyeah:

4. P19DJG

P19DJG Banned

Mar 16, 2013
    #4 P19DJG, Nov 21, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2013
    Hi & welcome to the forum View attachment 2446