1993 Trident Misfire/backfire

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Ecossie, Mar 17, 2020.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Ecossie

Ecossie New Member

Mar 17, 2020
    Dumfries
    #1 Ecossie, Mar 17, 2020
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2020
    My first post is sadly a tale of woe.
    I bought a 93 Trident 900 in need of work but am struggling to get it to run properly. I’ve many years experience restoring motorcycles but this is the first triple (previous bikes have mainly been Guzzi’s and a Armstrongs) I’ve tackled
    The bike will start on choke but runs really rough, won’t rev cleanly, spits and emits flame from the pipes.
    I’ve rebuilt the carbs (new needles/rubbers set float heights etc) I’ve also tested the resistance on the coils (LT and HT) and all within tolerances
    I’ve also checked the pick up and checked its clearance to the timing wheel.
    Plugs look fine are the correct grade and all spark on the button.
    I’m running the engine on a remote fuel rig so I can monitor the fuel being used and ensure the needle valves shut correctly.
    The bike starts but won’t rev and is popping and banging throughout the rev range with some fairly impressive blue flames exiting the manifold (silencers are off)
    I suspected a cyl 3 coil issue so moved the coils around to see if it moved with the coil but it didn’t.
    I’ve done a compression test which revealed 135/145/145 psi
    The issue feels like the timing is way out but it’s popping at idle too so I’ve discounted it not advancing correctly.
    The only thing I can’t test is the ignitor so I’m at a loss as to what to try next.
    Anybody had any similar issues?

2. Helmut Visor

Helmut Visor Only dead fish go with the flow
    Subscriber

Oct 3, 2018
    Three Counties
    Hi Ecossie, and welcome in :cool::cool: Am sure someone will be along to help very soon ;);)

3. t552

t552 Senior Member

Nov 17, 2014